ITIL® Lifecycle Phases

ITIL® lifecycle phases:

There are five phases of ITIL® lifecycle which are explained as:

Service Strategy:

This phase comprises the knowledge of prioritisation and clarification of investments of service-providers in services. The service strategy helps IT organisations to improve and develop. It follows market-driven approach and is the core of service lifecycle as well. The identification of this approach takes place to deliver values to the customers with IT service management. The domains covered in this are market analysis, service assets and business-case development.


Service Design:

This phase comprises design knowledge of IT services and processes. The service design explains the interaction of planned service solution with business and technical environments. The design work for IT service is combined into service design package (SDP).


  • Capacity management
  • Availability management
  • Service catalogue and level management


Service Transition:

It comprises knowledge of service delivery essential by business. It covers management of changes to BAU environment.


  • Change management
  • Service asset management
  • Configuration management


Service Operation:

It comprises the knowledge of delivering services to end users as well as customers. This phase is essential in ITIL® lifecycle. Also, the monitoring of difficulties and balance between service cost and reliability, etc. are considered. 


  • Event Management
  • Access Management
  • Request Fulfillment
  • Problem Management
  • Incident Management


  • Service Desk
  • Technical Management
  • Application Management
  • IT Operations Management


Continual Service Improvement:

Continual service improvement phase comprises knowledge of aligning and realigning IT services to changing needs of businesses. CSI wants that the planning, training, created roles, assigned ownerships, activities and awareness must be successful.

Also, the process of CSI is planned and scheduled with defined inputs, outputs, activities and roles. Application Performance Management (APM) and Continual Service Improvement (CSI) are considered as two distinct sides of the same coin. The overall focus of both of them is to improve the service design, service operation and the service transition. All these services aim to improve the overall operational excellence for IT.

View More  View Post

Cookie Policy - To give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site means that you agree to our use of cookies.  Okay, I accept